James’ SLO Life… Daughter’s First Airshow

james logo

On October 5th, the “Warbirds Over Paso” airshow flew into town (Ha!), and this year was quite a pleasure to attend. Not only was it the first airshow I have been to in close to 15 years, it was my daughter’s first airshow ever. The original plan involved the whole family, but my son got into a fist fight with a cup of tea and is recovering at home with momma. I know what you are thinking, but the tea was way worse off after the fight. So the Jedi and I load up and head out to see us some air planes.

Now to be honest, you don’t really have to pay to go in. You park right next to the air field so you could sit in your car and get a great view. I got free tickets because my work donated a bunch of stuff for the event and we got a few wrist bands so in we went. We got there just in time to see my favorite plane of all time, the P-38 Lightning. I haven’t been able to catch a show where one of these were flying and seeing one was like a childhood dream flying right in front of me. After watching it taxi back in, we walked around the parked planes and my daughter was amazed at the size of the C-130 that the Brits brought over. She had no problem going in all the planes we were allowed to look around in. The next planes were gearing up to fly and the roar of their engines caught my daughter’s attention and we headed towards the planes. 5 P-51 mustangs were heading out to the runway and everyone was getting excited (cool, but ain’t no p-38). I will have to admit, seeing 5 of these birds fly in formation was kinda cool. The next plane to fly was the “flying wing” built out in my home town of Hawthorne by Jim Northrop. Although cool to see, I have seen it before and it was far too quiet for my little Jedi to care for. We took this time to hit up the toy tables so I could be suckered into buying my sweet daughter a toy plane I will more than likely end up stepping on in the dark causing more bombs to drop from my mouth than fell on Berlin in 1945. After getting her toy, she decided it was getting time to go, so we headed towards the gate. She gave me permission, although grudgingly, to watch the bombers take off.She was pretty excited from the thump the engines throw through the air but was over it once they were up.

Although a quick 2 hour experience, it was a great first airshow for my little Jedi to see planes close up and flying in ways she hasn’t seen before. For being up here in Paso, this airshow puts on a great event for the whole family to enjoy. But make sure you bring hats and sunscreen because there isn’t much shade on the tarmac.

Ribbet collage

james signature

One thought on “James’ SLO Life… Daughter’s First Airshow

Leave a Reply

