Made in SLO… Celeste Craft

celeste 1

Celeste Sibbach of Celeste Craft shared her innovative creations with us and explains how she is “transitioning [her] shop towards a more socially and environmentally friendly model”! Our readers can enjoy a generous discount of 15% with the code SUPERSLO through December 31, 2013 on all of her hand crocheted goodies at her Etsy shop.

Celeste grew up in Atascadero and happily lives there now after returning from college + a few years.

How has SLO Grown?

SLO has grown and changed quite a bit. I remember the mall in San Luis, as a child it was unimaginably huge. It was rare that I got to go there, but I thought it was the a huge treat to get the sensory overload from walking the hall and to eat at the food court. As an adult, I prefer the relationships that come from the small shops and I avoid the “big box” experience.

What do you love most about SLO?

SLO is such a beautiful area. I love that I never have to look far for inspiration. The hills that surround us constantly changing, the different styles of seashore, the architectural lines of the little streets and the diversity of people and ideas. I love that there is something for me to learn everywhere I go.

I too find SLO to be, overwhelmingly, inspirational! How do you find it different from any other place?

The strength of the arts community so close to the agricultural lands makes life here opulent. I feel so fortunate that to have such great local foods and local talents.

What do you create?

For my Etsy shop I crochet hats, shawls, handwarmers, slippers and costume pieces. I write patterns so other people can crochet my designs.

How did you start creating?

I’ve always been a creative person. I’ve spent time in theatre, singing in choir, swing dancing and doing all sorts of crafting. I can’t imagine a life where I wasn’t creating some sort of art.

IMG_2344

Where do you do your work?

I have a shelving unit in my home where I keep my yarn. I often keep a small project in my purse and I crochet on my lunch break and when I stand in lines. When I have a new concept nagging my mind, I’ll sometimes take a bag of yarn to Dunbar Brewing in Santa Margarita and make a prototype over a beer and conversation.

IMG_2348

We really enjoy the idea of being socially and ecologically minded and you’ve mentioned that you’re moving toward that in your shop, how so?

My favorite yarn supplier is in Nebraska, they do almost all the processing and dyeing of the wool themselves and have developed water-recycling systems. I like knowing that the products that I make are gentle on the earth, don’t involve poor labor standards any where along the way, and turn out beautifully.

Thank you for your time, Celeste! Support this Local Artisan and visit her shop on Etsy. Don’t forget to use code SUPERSLO when checking out to receive your exclusive discount!

celeste 2

Leave a Reply

