James’ SLO Life… Fireworks and Family

james logo

The 4th of July is one of those holidays that stir up many fond memories of my childhood back in Hawthorne, CA. I was fortunate enough to live on a cul-de-sac with a broken street light, in one of the last few cities in LA that still allow fireworks. We had a lot of kids on my street growing up, so it was kind of an unofficial block party every year. Plus, the perks that came with having a police officer for a dad was that the quality of fireworks tended to be much greater with little risk of getting in trouble. Honestly, the things we used to do, it’s amazing that no one ever got hurt. I specifically remember a mortar shell exploding at knee level in the middle of the street, surrounded by people.

Now, living in Templeton; I have the pleasure of raising my kids on a cul-de-sac (with a broken street light) in one of the last cities in the 805 to allow fireworks. I was like a little kid when I saw a stand open up on Las Tablas on Sunday to start selling those wonderful, if not fleeting, sticks of mixed powder that seem to brighten everyone’s eyes to the point of “blindness”. I can’t wait to get my hands on some “piccolo petes” and start crimping them down to make them a little more fun then they are set up to be (unsafe and insane?). After seeing my daughter in Ohio with the fireworks and her reactions to them, I am excited to spend my time with the whole family, partaking in a great American tradition (yes, I know fireworks were invented by the Chinese).

If planning on spending the 4th in north county, make sure to hit up those firework stands in Templeton (and please only use them in Templeton). While Atascadero and Templeton both have daytime events, there will be no firework show this year (as of July 1st) at Barney Schwartz Park in Paso Robles. With Robert Hall Winery also canceling their big function, North County seems to not be the happening place for events. Most [in North County] will be flocking to Templeton Park to light fireworks with half of the county. I am gonna invite some friends over and light up my cul-de-sac, with the broken street light, in a great show of dazzling fire and sparks before shifting into Ramadan on Monday the 8th. What? James is Muslim? More on that next time. Be safe and enjoy your 4th of July.

james signature

Leave a Reply

