local eats… The Rib Line

ribline

Rib Line

228 West Grand Ave

Grover Beach CA 93433

(805) 474-0123

Wow. Really, wow! We were told by a couple locals, that say that they like bbq, to not go here because “It’s too expensive and isn’t that great.” So, we were hesitant to try it but after a few of their suggestions were flops, we thought we’d give it a shot. Boy, were they wrong. The first time we tried them out, we didn’t have a menu and when we called we had to ask for, basically, an oral run through of their offerings. The girl that helped us was really nice but they laughed at us when we asked if we could have it delivered. We figured that they closed in 30 minutes and they are about a quarter mile from our house so they should be able to accommodate a delivery. Not that time, I guess.

Our craving was getting ridiculous and we had to get back. This time, we opted to dine in. The crowd was a mish mash of locals, bros, fresnoids, and bakos. The meal was incredible. I had the tri tip sandwich and baked beans. The tri tip was cooked perfectly, as tender as can be with flavor to spare. I like it SLO style and that means bbq sauce not salsa. The bbq sauce was well balanced and I, easily, could have spread that sauce on a box and would be happy. Now, the beans. Holy bananas. I mean, c’mon. The baked beans are “slap yo mama” good; sweet, smoky, and the beans aren’t overcooked and mushy. My husband had the beef ribs and the fact that his eyes rolled so far back in his head, I knew they were good and he said they were out of this world. He had pasta salad and potato salad, both of which were just okay.

We asked the server what the specials were, before the meal, and he told us about the mac n cheese of the day. It was something with bleu cheese, which I love, and I asked if I could get some as a side. He told me that the cooks could make it happen. I asked him how much the side would be and he said their sides are $4.95. Well, after he dropped off our entrees he came back with a plate full of the mac n cheese. When I asked if that was a “side” he said yes and told me it was $9.95. What?! I told him that I wouldn’t pay 10 bucks for a side and asked him to take it away. He then asked me “So, you want me to take it off your bill?” Ummmm, yup. I do. Our server proved to be, well, the dullest tool in the tool shed. He was a nice kid and you could tell he wanted to provide quality service and he thought that he was but he, obviously, fell short. When we were checking out we asked him how far and how late they delivered. He said that it just depended on what everyone felt like that day. Seems about right.

All in all, this place is immensely delicious. Like, drool-the-whole-way-there delicious. Our friends from out of state ate here when they came for our wedding and they crave it all the time. Lucky for us, we can feed the craving whenever we want. By the way- they are totally not as expensive as other famous SLO bbq joints. They have affordable meals for 2 or families and offer salads as well.

Pros

  • Bang for your buck proportions
  • FOOD QUALITY
  • Options for food

Cons

  • Parking can be hard to find when they’re busy because they’re in a plaza and share the parking with residents
  • Delivery isn’t always available
  • Service can leave you wanting more
Leave a Reply

