inspiration/creation…painted pot

pot3

My love for succulents started young and grows stronger as I get older. I can thank my mom for the obsession!  She always took care of her numerous plants, each in their own special pot. Her addiction appreciation for succulents began in high school and her friends have always gifted her with rare plants. So, when my husband and I stumbled upon an amazing succulent shop we knew we weren’t going to walk out empty handed. I kept going back to this ruffled-edged plant and it made me think of my mom. My mom is a seamstress (although I don’t feel that title does her and her amazing talent justice) and the ruffled edges reminded me of some dresses she was working on. The colors were so vibrant in the sun and we, obviously, grabbed it! I don’t think it’s much of a mystery that I get all my creativity from this wonderfully talented woman.

Giving a plant as a gift is not as nice in the plastic container they come in and my husband said I should paint a pot. I thought it was a great idea and I thought of doing a simple ombré so the pot wouldn’t compete with the beautiful plant. The ombré trend that many of us enjoyed in the 70s and 80s came back full force and now we’re seeing it on everything for the home. I found a cute example at A Bird’s Leap but put my own twist on it, of course. I didn’t follow the tutorial but the colors inspired me. Yeah, I decided not to stick to simple but I think this pot complements the plant.

ombrepot

How I did it in 3 EASY steps:

  1. I painted the entire outside of a 8″ pot white with acrylic paint. I painted the top and and inside as well, about 4″ down, not the entire inside since the plant would be potted.
  2. I chose 3 colors of acrylic paint and used my fingers to blot the paint in absolutely no order. I decided not to go all the way around the pot, leaving some white to show contrast with all of the colors.
  3. Using a black permanent marker, I drew all different blooms on the tri-colored portion.

You DO NOT have to draw well to do this project. In fact, drawing is one of my weakest skills. Just practice doodling your blooms on paper and it’ll be easier. Honestly, I didn’t doodle. I just went for it!

I’m really happy with how it came out and my husband thought it was pretty rockin’. The best part was giving the gift to our mama and she was thrilled! This project was so fun that I’m probably going to make them for all our plants. If we run out of plants that need pots? We’d have to get more plants, right?!

One thought on “inspiration/creation…painted pot

  1. These turned out great! I LOVE California! My best friend lives out in Calabasas so when I as living in Vegas we would take turns visiting each other :). Thanks soo much for linking up with us @ The SHOW OFF Weekend Blog Party!

    Jessica
    The Wondering Brain

Leave a Reply

