My Birthday

BDAY COLLAGE1

Growing up I always liked to have wild and crazy birthdays. As I got older, the partying lasted longer and celebrations could be daily for a month. This birthday, I had the same expectations. Boy was I surprised when I enjoyed a relaxing day that stretched into the weekend.

My husband had emergency surgery a couple of weeks ago so I knew this birthday would be super low-key. We had every intention of celebrating at a later date to make up for it. Luckily, we have nothing to make up for! My birthday was last Friday and we started the celebration on Thursday with lunch at a place we’ve been wanting to try, a stop at a beach I’ve been longing to comb, a stay in the woods, and family time the next day. Everything was done at a snail’s pace, not my usual style at all, and I was more than satisfied to go at that speed.

The last 4 days were such a blessing and revelation. As I get older, it’s obvious that my mind wants to slow down and decompress and I am more than happy to give in. I never thought that I would be someone to enjoy the slower things in life as much as I do. I now realize that one of the reasons God brought me to this new home is to slow me down to reevaluate. Leaving our go-go-go life gets easier every day and prayer helps with that.

25-year-old me wouldn’t believe what she’s hearing and 45-year-old me is saying, “Duh!”.  I am embracing the SLO life more and more. I only wish everyone the same blessing.

As you get older, what are you learning that contradicts how you saw yourself at this age?

{More about where we went in future posts}

2 thoughts on “My Birthday

  1. Pingback: see & do…Moonstone Beach in Cambria, CA | my super slo life

  2. Pingback: local eats…Redwood Cafe | my super slo life

Leave a Reply

