inspiration/creation…birthday wreath

inspirationcreation1

Creating is one of my favorite things to do and I’m always looking for inspiration. When I find something that gets my creative juices flowing, I don’t follow it to a T, but I make it my own. My niece’s first birthday was coming up and seeing that she’s a Spring baby (we share the same bday!) and her mom loves all things crafty, I knew this would be the perfect way to announce it to the world…or at least the neighborhood. My inspiration was found at Flamingo Toes, where inspiration abounds for me, and I couldn’t wait to get going.

My twists on the tutorial- flat formed wreath, multi-color yarn, and felt instead of ric rac. I hand embroidered the bunting, my first attempt at embroidery…ever! Also, instead of using pearl pins, I glued pearls so the pins wouldn’t poke anyone should they fall out. To make the “ric rac” with felt, I cut it with pinking shears for perfect points. The bunting was hand tacked also.

Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to get this in the mail yet, but at least it is something that is to be displayed after her birthday! oops. I really wish I could be there to help her celebrate her 1st bday, I know it will be full of style. Crossing my fingers that it makes it to her safely and not crushed in the mail.

avewreath

One thought on “inspiration/creation…birthday wreath

Leave a Reply

