Movin’ on North

movinonnorth

Moving to the Central Coast was a bittersweet decision for my husband and I. We loved our home in Los Angeles but wanted to help care for our elderly grandfather and spend as much time with him as we could…he lives in SLO. Family means everything to us and the decision just made sense. So, we packed up our place and moved on North.

My emotions ran the gamut the months, weeks, and days leading up to our move. I’m a Los Angeles native who only lived in San Francisco when not living in Los Angeles and I adore everything about the place. You really can’t beat the culture, restaurants, beaches, mountains, and everything else that made it HOME. I was excited for a new adventure but saddened by what would be left behind, especially friends that are our family. There were a lot of tears, heart-wrenching anxiety, joy, and optimism. As we passed LAX, all I felt was unsure. All of a sudden I couldn’t imagine life outside of the county lines and I cried.

I decided to pray. When I’m lost, I pray. My heart calmed and my head became silent. God lowered the sun and affirmed our decision with an incredible sunset that lasted long for a Winter’s evening. I was humbled by the sight and it lasted the majority of the drive. My head and heart finally came to an agreement, this is where we’re meant to be. At least, for now!

These pictures don’t do the sunset ANY justice.

Leave a Reply

